



Millard Education Association

4204 South 57th St. Omaha, Nebraska 68117 • (402) 731-0400

MEA Website: <u>millardmea.org</u> Volume 6 Number 1 Email: <u>alevy@mpsomaha.org</u> (groupwise: alevy) August 2007

The MEA Update is issued during the school year to keep members informed.

A QUOTE FROM ANYNOMOUS

"Teachers are everyday heroes. They inspire hopes, nurture dreams, and encourage success. They seek out potential and find ways to develop it. They coach the talented, comfort the troubled, reward achievement, and promote good character. Teachers step in front of their students each day and offer the world. Teachers take us to faraway lands, places we might have never known without them. They give us tools to succeed that otherwise we might have never found, and they make us feel better about ourselves than we might have if they hadn't believed in us."

WE ARE:

The Millard Education Association is a member directed organization of professional educators committed to the empowerment of its members through the advancement of:

- a quality public education for all,
- educational decision making through collaboration,
- leadership development opportunities, rights and economic well-being of its members through collective bargaining, and
- human and civil rights for all.

WELL INTO THE YEAR

Does it seem possible that Labor Day is upon us and we have been in school for three weeks? What ever happened to the old days when school started after Labor Day? Air conditioning and urban living must be part of the reason.

HERE TO SERVE YOU

Your MEA officers this year are: President, Tony Levy, Vice-President, Molly Erickson, Secretary, Becky Torrens, and Treasurer, Angela Ralph. The MEA Board of Directors are: Elementary, Sherry Havranek and Mike Foyt; Middle School, Kathy Gibbs and Erin Shirmang-Ward; High School, Matt Heys and Sherryl Shannon; MEA Director at large, Marilyn Yeck.

BUILDING REPRESENTATIVES:

SCHOOL	LAST	FIRST
Abbott	Ashford	Paula
Ackerman	Pahls	Lyn
Ackerman	Bealle	Jason
Aldrich	Vanourney	Dianne
Aldrich	Leibrock	Michele
Andersen Mid Sch	Voss	Mary
Andersen Mid Sch	Marceau	Robert
Beadle Mid Sch	Hancock	David
Beadle Mid Sch	Lindquist	Jody
Black Elk	Hoffman	Casey
Bryan	McGinnis Johnson	Mary
Cather	DeRoy	Susan
Central Mid Sch	Whale	Morgan
Cody	Simpson	Michelle
Cottonwood	Baye	Virginia
Cottonwood	Scherbring	Rebecca
CSMI	Daubert	Heather
Disney	Schulte	Paul
Disney	Johnson	Georgia
Ezra Millard	Shanahan	W Reynee
Hitchcock	Baker	Gay
Holling Hgts.	Bivens	Sara
Holling Hgts.	Killeen	Colleen
Kiewit Mid Sch	Moylan	Jennifer
Kiewit Mid Sch	Bernstein	Rose

Worick Carmen Mid Sch Alternative Prog Millard Learning Ctr Davis Ina Marie Montclair Karen Callinan Montclair Dunning Susan Morton Hansen Sandra Neihardt Baratta Angela Neihardt Gohr Kelly Norris Hultman Steven Norris Tyler Hottovy North Mid Sch Rossitto Jeannene North Mid Sch Hansen Betty North Sr. Hi. Lenz Vincent North Sr. Hi. Butcher Pamela North Sr. Hi. Patten David Reagan Rama Meagan Reeder Brendel Melissa Reeder Zeisler Sarah Rockwell Herd Bethany Rockwell Becker John Rohwer Dean Nancy Rohwer Chambers Anne Russell Mid Sch Officer Leigh Russell Mid Sch Ludwig Page Natasha Gray Katherine Sandoz Johns Sandoz Lynda South Sr. Hi. Powers Laura South Sr. Hi. Trenerry Mary South Sr. Hi. Tyler Renken South Sr. Hi. Iliff Theresa West Sr. Hi. Mercer James West Sr. Hi. Berzina Tyler West Sr. Hi. Paul Gabel West Sr. Hi. Holzer Kristen West Sr. Hi. Hoshaw Lloyd Wheeler Pawlenty Joyce Willowdale Jernstrom Julie

The MEA would like to invite you to be part of our organization. We are looking for members to serve on one of our many committees.

Budget Committee: Reviews the needs of the Association for the next school year and creates a recommended budget to meet those needs. Also sets the MEA dues for the up coming school year. The MEA treasurer is the chairperson of this committee.

Insurance Committee: Keeps members informed on what proposed changes maybe coming up with our health and dental insurance. The committee meets periodically with the District to discuss coverage usage and trends. **Government Relations Committee**: This committee is made up of members that contribute to the MEA political action fund. The committee decides which local candidates to recommend to members and how to disperse PAC funds.

Membership Committee: Works to maintain and increase membership. Plans new teacher activities and other activities during the school year to establish a healthy membership.

Elections Committee: Establishes guidelines and conducts all MEA elections.

TRANSCRIPTS DUE

If you took a **graduate** course last year or this summer and the completion date is prior to September 1, 2007, be sure to have your "official" transcript sent to the Human Resource department no later than January 10, 2008.

Payment per graduate hour is now \$165 per hour and will be added to your salary.

THERE AUGHT TO BE A LAW

"MEA should file a grievance." How many times have you thought that or heard someone say it? The reality is, MEA does not file a grievance, a member does. Unless a member is willing to put their name on a grievance, it can't be done.

According to District policy 4325, rule 4325.1, the purpose of a grievance procedure is to resolve, as quickly as possible, problems which may arise concerning conditions of employment of District personnel.

What constitutes a "condition of employment?"

Conditions of employment means personnel policies, practices, and matters, whether established by rule, regulation, otherwise [e.g., by custom] or contract interpretations, affecting working conditions.